Fresno State Athletics

Fresno State Athletics

iHeartMedia! The New Home For Fresno State Athletics!


Four pick up CSC Academic All-District honors

FRESNO, Calif. - Four Bulldog water polo players in Elisa Grim, Daphne Guevremont, Kelsey McKenney and Paula Nieto Jasny have been named to the 2023 Academic All-District Women's At-Large team, selected by College Sports Communicators.

Grim, this year's recipient of the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, appeared in all 27 games in her sophomore season. She totaled 17 goals and 17 assists. She added 18 drawn exclusions and 19 steals. Grim has a cumulative 4.00 grade point average as an exercise science major.

Guevremont earned her degree last week in exercise science with a cumulative undergraduate GPA of 3.799. One of the senior leaders on the squad, Guevremont totaled 37 goals and 29 assists in 2023, earning second team All-GCC honors.

McKenney graduated this spring with a degree in business administration with an emphasis in real estate. She carried an undergraduate GPA of 3.895 while continuing her excellence in the pool and serving as the team captain this season. McKenney, a Valley native, was a dedicated member of Craig School of Business Scholar Organization. She was the club's president for the 2022-23 school year.

Nieto Jasny was Fresno State's primary goalkeeper, finishing the season with a single-season career-high 216 saves, tying her own program record for most saves in a single season. Nieto Jasny carries a 3.745 cumulative GPA as an exercise science major. She graduated with her undergraduate degree this spring.

The four honored Bulldogs were all large contributors to Fresno State's Golden Coast Conference regular season and tournament championship run seasons, helping the program to win its third-straight in both honors.

The 2023 Academic All-District® Women's At-Large Teams, selected by College Sports Communicators, recognize the nation's top student-athletes for their combined performances in the athletic realm and in the classroom. The CSC Academic All-America® program separately recognizes honorees in four divisions — NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA.